Skip to content

5 Packs of Ramen Noodles

February 27, 2012

Interesting fact #1:  If you were to unwind your pack of Ramen noodles it would be 100 feet long.

I didn’t have time to eat breakfast at home so I ate in the car.  Laura was worried that I would spill my a bowl of noodles all over myself while driving to work so she had an idea that has never been had before: Noodles in a cup.

I had mine in a stainless steel travel mug.  Much cooler.  I wonder what people thought was up with my coffee… See, I sipped the broth out easily, but the noodles congealed in the bottom of the cup.  I had that mug upside down slapping it and shaking it trying to get some breakfast at red lights.

I got to work and spent the next 8 hours digging a trench with a pick and shovel.  I was hungry.

Long and Interesting Side Note:  Ramen Noodles were invented by a Japanese man named Momofuku Ando.  He was interested in solving world hunger. He was interested in peace.  Here he is cast in gold:

Momofuku survived WWII in japan, but his hometown of Osaka had been nearly destroyed.  He witnessed people going hungry, people waiting for food, people eating noodles.  He had a simple and beautiful idea.  He thought: “”peace will come to the world when all its people have enough to eat.”  So he set out to make that happen.

There were several criteria Momafuku decided that his world-feeding-food would have to meet to be successful.  It had to be:

  • Tasty
  • Nonperishable
  • Ready in less than three minutes
  • Economical
  • Safe
  • healthy

Well, Momafuku, 5 outa 6 aint bad!  I ate 3 tasty meals that I prepared in 3 minutes from a package that’s been in my cabinet for over a year and it cost me less than a buck.

These noodles are now all over the world, they are shipped anywhere there is a food crisis, and so far no WWIII.  I’d say that’s a success.

FYI I took all this information from here. 

Anyway, I was starving by 9:30.  There was no silverware in my trench so I found a (very clean) stick and dug the last noodles out of the bottom of the mug.  Before you judge me, remember that people have been eating noodles with sticks for thousands of years.

I felt pretty good then until 10:30 when I got really hungry again.

Lunch was two packs of noodles.  I cooked them in another coffee mug in the microwave.  I sipped and slurped and had a pretty good lunch.  I even felt nice and full… for about 5 minutes.

Interesting Fact #2: The average Japanese person eats 45 packs or Ramen noodles every year.  The average Japanese person is also thinner and healthier than you.

By 2:30 I was starving again.  Strangely though, while my stomach felt empty it looked all puffed out.

I went running at 5.  I had nothing.  No energy at all.  My muscles screamed and protested and i felt incredibly sore, even though I haven’t done anything to get sore in the past few days.  I averaged, no joke, about 13 minute miles.  I stopped and walked.  I took a break.  I really pushed myself, but you could have crawled past me.

When I got home the house was blazing hot, but I was cold.  I don’t think my body had the energy warm itself up.

I had 2 more packs for dinner.  I mixed extra water in so that I might feel full.  Which I did, for another 5 minutes.  Before I knew it my stomach was growling and my intestines were gurgling.  As I write this I am incredibly exhausted. I am having some serious trouble organizing my thoughts and making this look coherent.  I’ll probably have to eat something else later and edit this.

Taste: Salty.

Cost: 50 Cents.  For real.

Performance: F

X Factor:  Easy to pack, easy to cook, super fast, super cheap.

Interesting Fact #3:  There are over 700 varieties of Ramen noodles available worldwide.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. That’s a cool origin. It gives me a little bit of respect for Ramens. In theory anyway.

  2. TheDoctor permalink

    I tried, I really did, but I was unable to find a true danger from Ramen overdose. I considered things like Kwashiorkor (protein-energy malnutrition from a diet of solely carbohydrates). Tried to find reputable studies citing the dangers of MSG but no direct links have been proven. All the salt in Ramen is certainly not good for your blood pressure but that is true of most processed, packaged food available at any grocery store.

    I concede and will exit gracefully with a bow to Momofuku Ando.

  3. Momafuku permalink

    You forgot to mention how bamf my name is!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 16.5 Ounces of Cheddar Cheese « 2000calories

Leave a Reply

