Skip to content

14 twinkies

February 13, 2012

Gross fact #1:  Twinkies are not vegetarian.  They contain (or perhaps more disturbingly “may contain”) beef fat.

Here is a list of other things that may not be vegetarian.  These ones may surprise you even more.

Anyway… I went into this day with dismally low hopes.  I thought I would end up feeling like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One look at the ingredient list (which is as long and unpronounceable as the untranslated Odyssey) had me questioning whether I be seriously increasing my cancer risks in one day.  Five of the ingredients include numbers.  Polysorbate 60, for instance.  Flipping the box around and looking at the every joyful little Twinkie the Kid offering me a high 5 (as well as some yellow 5) made me feel much better.  I think it might do the same for you.

14 Twinkies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gross Fact #2:  Yellow 5, which give twinkies their delicious lemony coloring is fed to commercially grown egg laying chickens to make the yolks of their eggs more attractive.  Don’t take my word for it. 

Anyway, I crunched the numbers.  With each Twinkie containing 15o calories I would need to eat 13.3333 repeating.  I don’t know exactly how to slice a repeating decimal so I rounded up to 14, bringing my caloric count to 2,100.

This did not help.

 

 

 

 

 

Thinking that I would be experiencing a lot of sugar rushes and crashes I decided on a careful plan.  I would eat 2 Twinkies for breakfast, 1 for a snack, 3 for lunch, 2 for snacks, 3 for dinner, 2 just before running, and 1 after running.

I walked into work and was nearly assaulted by about a dozen kids begging me to share.  I hadn’t counted on this, so I told them to go get a life and bother somebody else and leave me alone etc…

I had breakfast with some nice herbal tea, and was surprised to enjoy the experience.  Maybe the red 40 in there was causing a psychotic break and making me enjoy it.  Anyway here is me eating breakfast:

surprisingly delicious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started teaching, expecting my mind to shut down and my stomach to cramp up at any second, but probably right after the sugar crash.  Strangely though, I felt kind of awesome.  My mind was clear.  My body was working just fine and I experienced no hunger until 10:30 when I ate another twinkie and felt like $100 right up to lunch.

Lunch was surprisingly satisfying.  I didn’t feel a twinge of hunger until 4, when I ate another Twinkie.

Now I had a really long car ride to a conference for work.  One guy told me I was not allowed in his car because of twinkie farts.  I’ll have you know that this is not a side affect of twinkies.  I didn’t get to eat dinner until around 8 though, and by that time I was ravenous.  I sat down and had 5 twinkies back to back.  This was the first and only time I felt slightly questionable.  but I thought it would be a good time to run.

This might be me running. Note the shirt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Look.  I don’t claim to understand it.  All I know is that I felt great.  I ran my standard three miles, and felt so good I ran three more.  I felt truly unstoppable.

After the run I celebrated with a little bit of desert.

Cost: $6.50

Taste: I tried one the day before the experiment and it was gross.  Day of, each one tasted amazing.

Fullness Factor:  Amazing.  I felt great all day.  Way less hunger than on a standard eating day.

Performance: A

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

X Factor:  Know a little kid you want to make friends with?  Give it a Twinkie.  Know a little kid that you wish would never talk to you again?  Eat a Twinkie in front of it without sharing.

Ps.  According to my findings so far here is the perfect food:

Twinkies wrapped in bacon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gross fact #3: Twinkies are amazing.

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. LOL!!! TWINKIES! My stomach was churning just thinking of eating ONE Twinkie but 14….wow you have some iron will power there….and then I did it…I clicked the link to the top 10 grossest foods and that just about did me in completely….

  2. Lindsay permalink

    This was perhaps my favorite review yet. I was completely shocked by the positive effects. The list of not-always vegetarian foods had a few surprises on there for me too. Sounds like Twinkies should be on hand at marathon race-day snack tables across America–for meat eaters, that is.

  3. Mindy permalink

    Oh My Goodness… I must say… I am hooked. NOT on Twinkies! But on reading what in the world you are eating. You must be a very healthy person to survive a day on Twinkies!

  4. uncle Billy permalink

    All I can say is that I am earnestly anticipating what the Doctor has to say about this one. (Also I want a ride in his time machine. No Daleks, though.)

  5. Karen Hale permalink

    I love the bacon and twinkie idea!! The 2 best food experiences you have had all in one! I have heard of deep fried twinkies, always sounded extreme to me, but eating 14 in one day is pretty extreme, too!

  6. Hahaha, like how you refer to a kid as “it” a couple of times.

    This was a great post by the way.

  7. Steph permalink

    Hi Ian,
    Having great fun reading your blog here! I almost feel jealous of the Twinkie experiment.

    Stephanie D.

    • Hi Sara! Thank You for asking! Homes.com paerntred with the bloggers featured in this post to have them share what Spring into the Dream means to them. They created blog posts Pinterest boards to show what it means to them. As a reader of Homes.com or any of these blogs you are eligible to participate by checking out the bloggers above, reading their post, creating a Pinterest board of what Spring into the Dream means to you and then commenting on the blogger’s post with the link to the Pinterest board you created. We will be choosing one blogger who will win $500 for herself and one of her readers. The winning blogger will get to pick one of the boards linked up in her comment section and award them $500. I hope this help answers your question, if not, please let me know.

  8. TheDoctor permalink

    Exhaustive searching in medical literature has led to no potential toxicity’s from excessive Twinkie consumption. Amazing but true.

    I will leave you with a quote from the inventor of Twinkies. Before he died in 1985, Dewar said that Twinkies was “the best darn-tootin’ idea I ever had.” He said that the key to his long life (Dewar lived to a ripe old age of 88) is to “eat Twinkies every day and smoke a pack of cigarettes.”

Leave a Reply

