Skip to content

11.75 Ounces of Almonds

January 30, 2012

Food for the day.

This is my food for the day.  Not much at all for a guy who likes to eat, but I had high hopes.   I figured if bacon had gone so well, this might be similar due to its high fat content.  So, I packed the super convenient, ergonomically designed container and went to work.  I was hungry and had a handful in the car for breakfast.

It looked kind of like this:

But it felt like I was eating this:

Clearly delicious, but plainly lacking in volume.

Pretty early on in the day I started to feel a little bit sluggish and almost woozy.  My mind also began to feel foggy and somewhat slower than normal. Naturally, I was starving by 10:30, so I ate a snack.

This may or may not be me. Regardless, the guy is eating almonds.

At lunch, naturally, there was an “Iron Chef” competition and a free gourmet lunch for everyone at work.  I thought about abandoning ship, but instead I had another handful of artificially flavored smokey almonds and took a hike.  I logged 2.5 miles and saw a couple of bald eagles.  I also felt pretty good.  Being outside and active cleared up my head.

I offered him an almond, but it was no go.

By the end of my hike I was very hungry.  But, I had eaten over 1,000 calories and my day was not half over so I toughed it out.  And stayed hungry.  And kept toughing it out.

Around 4 I had another snack, which left me hungrier than I started.

Around 6 I ate dinner, which was the last third of the almonds.  It was the first time all day I felt full.  I sat around and gloried in that feeling for about 20 minutes, then went running.

The run started with a bad omen: a jerk driver swerving around honking at me.  The first mile went OK, but a little on the slow side.  The second mile I lost about 30 seconds on my pace.  Right at mile 2 I developed a weird pain in my stomach that seemed to split in half.  One half went up into my chest and hurt up there.  The other half migrated down into my intestines and boiled and rolled and caused a good deal of discomfort.  This made running very difficult.  With a tremendous amount of willpower I made it home accident free.   And that’s all the news that’s fit to print.

This is me running.

Cost: $4.25

Taste: Really should have gone dry roasted.  It was consistently pleasant and I always looked forward to snacks.

Fullness Factor: Horrible.  Portions were so small I never felt like I ate a meal.  Hungry all day.

Performance: see above

X Factor: Superior packability and snackability.  It made me appreciate the genius of trail mix.  Mix a little chocolate in there and you have an amazing mix of fat, protein and carbs that weighs next to nothing.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. MY stomach is growling just reading about it….looking forward to seeing what you will eat 2k cals of next! LOL

  2. “This is me running.”
    hehe.
    You have grown a little more chest-hair since i saw you last. Let’s run soon. How about next monday? okay.

  3. TheDoctor permalink

    Almonds are a disappointingly safe food to eat in large quantity. Unless of course you have a tree nut allergy that progresses to food induced anaphylaxis (FIA).

    What is anaphylaxis? A life-threatening, bodywide allergic reaction
    Etymology: Greek, ana (without), phylaxis (protection)

    some summarized info on FIA: Peanuts and tree nuts are overwhelmingly and disproportionately represented in case series of severe and fatal outcomes, severe allergic reaction, and visits to the emergency department for food anaphylaxis, particularly in US. Large surveys indicate that in comparison with other foods, allergic reactions to nuts seem to be particularly severe, with multisystemic or respiratory symptoms in up to 81% of the cases.

    How do you identify an anaphylactic reaction?
    After ingestion of the offending substance or the sting of an insect in a susceptible person they begin to develop:
    -Difficulty breathing, starting to wheeze, or a tight feeling in the chest or throat
    -Swelling of the mouth or tongue or swelling and/or itching over most of the body.
    -severe stomach pains and/or repeated vomiting.
    -lightheadedness or pass out.

    What do you do? Call 911. Paramedics are trained to handle allergic reactions. They will give the patient epinephrine (adrenaline), Benadryl and a steroid to reverse the allergic reaction. I’ve seen it, its pretty cool. The medications take effect nearly instantly.

  4. You have an amazing amount of willpower, Ian. I am glad you don’t have to do this particular kind of fast again–but it sure is interesting to read about.

Leave a Reply

